I don't talk much about the taunts and racial slurs I faced in youth and minor hockey. I pride myself in being maybe the first black player to play consistently in the league, McKegney said. McKegney scored 31 goals in 1986-87, 29 of them after being traded to the New York Rangers. Draft: Buffalo, 2nd round (32nd overall), 1978 NHL Amateur. Judge to former NHLer Tony McKegney: 'You were a danger to yourself' I'd been chasing that red light since I started playing hockey at 3 years old. And if those people were wrong about his future in hockey, what else might they be wrong about? We reserve the right to close comments at any time. Coming into the next season, he thought he was a shoo-in to make the team. the official stats partner of the NBA, NHL and MLB. {* traditionalSignIn_signInButton *}, Comment and participate in our online community. I probably should have, and I never did that. Today, Tony McKegney, the first Black player to score 40 goals in an NHL season, tells his story of overcoming racial bias and serving as inspiration for Jarome Iginla, the only other Black. Sherry Bassin, 80, is a former junior hockey executive and another person who helped shape Saunders as a hockey player and a person. All NHL team jerseys customized with NHL players' names and numbers are officially licensed by the NHL and the NHLPA. While in Fredericton, he says the coach told him he may play a couple dozen games at the NHL level, but his main role would be to tutor the other players. There isnt enough recent news in your lineup. If no results appear, use Enter to do a full site search. Mike Harrington: His team looks good, even without Alex Tuch. Tony McKegney Net Worth, Age, Height, Weight, Wife, Wiki-Bio, Family of 1 Hockey was like that for me -- I was constantly focused on numbers. If my career took some pressure off of him, or anyone who looks like us, I'm very proud of that. As of this date, Sue is single. When I started in the league, I never would have guessed. And my te